The kayak-hike was not what we expected and not worth $135.00 a person. Why? We were told by the resort where we were staying that it would be a 5-6 hour outing. Our total trip was about 4 hours. We were told to check in at the Outfitters Office so we did. When we got there, we were told that we could go with Lolo in the van, but that if we drove to Smith's Tropical Paradise ourselves we could leave directly after the tour from there (saving time having to go back to the Outfitters Office and more time on the road backtracking to our resort). So we then drove to Smith's, but that wasted a lot of time. Why not tell customers to report directly to Smith's? The hike: I understand with the narrow trails why we were single file on the hike. However, we were at the end, and by the time we got to the rest of the group, Lolo had already started to talk about the flora, history, etc., of the area. We missed a lot because of that and because we could not hear what he was saying. When we got to the falls, we expected people but not as many as there were. It was like a tropical Disney World, not the peaceful place we had hoped. Also, we barely had enough time there to take a dip in the water and eat a turkey sandwich. There was not enough time to appreciate the area although that would have been hard with so many people there. Lolo explained that there are seven tour companies. Why not stagger the days or times of arrival/departure so customers can truly appreciate the beauty of the area? Or give people maps, explain the dangers, charge a moderate fee for information and fee for kayak rental, and they can go on their own (as obviously locals or other people did). We booked the tour because obviously we were unfamiliar with the area, being from Pennsylvania, and expected it to be a more serene and informative hike. We also expected to learn a lot, as was advertised, about the area, which we didn't. The tour was not worth the $135 a person. No complaints about Lolo, a Kauai-born resident. I'm sure he knew a lot. It's just a shame we never got to learn more from him. We wouldn't recommend this tour. Any refund would be appreciated.
Response from Host
Sep 2024
Aloha Debbie G,
We are very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your Wailua River tour to Uluwehi falls. (aka Secret falls) We strive to make every experience a 5 star tour. The 5-6 hour tour is timed from check in to return which includes transit time. You booked through your hotel concierge so I cannot say what transpired with your booking. However, I do know that the staff at the Koa Kea is excellent and the agent who booked you is very familiar with the Wailua River tour. We like to offer people a choice of riding or driving from our check in. The tour companies do stagger their tour times in hopes of not being too crowded. It is a state park so there can be quite a few people at the falls that rent kayaks and adventure up on their own. They rent at random times and have no schedule. We have no control over that. We ALWAYS recommend going up the river with a guide. Conditions can change quickly with the rain on the Wailua river and we care about safety above all else. Lono is an amazing guide. Thank you for noticing. We do offer a great and casual tour up the Hule'ia river. It's the Hidden Valley Falls Kayak Adventure. It will take you up into private property with a guide. Although there is no 120 foot water fall, there is a very scenic area where the water rolls over the rocks creating beautiful scenery and photo opportunities. The only people you will see are the people on tour with you. This tour also offers a boat ride back. Please consider the Hidden Valley falls tour next time. You won't be disappointed!!!